Canada’s Forestry Sector Announces Awards Of Excellence Recipients, Celebrating Its Best And Brightest

September 21, 2020

As the 100th anniversary of National Forest Week is celebrated across the country, Forest Products Association of Canada (FPAC) is using the opportunity to announce the recipients of its annual Awards of Excellence program to recognize the women and men across the country who make special contributions to the sector and Canada’s forestry communities.

Winners have been selected across several categories, including forest community champions, industry partners, Indigenous leadership, women in forestry, rising stars, innovation, and lifetime achievement.  

“The FPAC Awards of Excellence program is an opportunity for us to honour some of the remarkable people who help make our sector a world leader in sustainable forest management and are advancing the environmental, social, and economic benefits of Made in Canada forestry,” said FPAC President and CEO Derek Nighbor. “During COVID-19, we have not only witnessed the resilience of our people and communities, but we have also seen the important health, environmental, and economic benefits that forestry and forest products bring to Canada. I can’t think of a better time to acknowledge and celebrate forestry workers and our partners who have been making great things happen from coast to coast,” Nighbor added.  

FPAC’s 2020 Award winners include:

Forest Community Champion Award

• The Honourable Lisa Raitt – former MP for Milton, Ontario and Cabinet Minister

• William Amos – MP for Pontiac, Quebec and Parliamentary Secretary to Minister of Innovation, Science, and Industry

• Walt Cobb – Mayor, Williams Lake, British Columbia

• Regional Deputy Grand Council Chief Edward Wawia, Northern Superior Region, Anishinabek Nation

FPAC Partnership Award

• Department of Renewable Resources, University of Alberta - Ecosystem Management Emulating Natural Disturbance project (EMEND)  

• Ducks Unlimited Canada - Forest Management Wetlands Stewardship Initiative, Boreal Conservation Programs

FPAC Outstanding Member Award

• Louise Riopel – Millar Western, Edmonton, Alberta

• Kevin Larlee – AV Group, Nackawic, New Brunswick

FPAC / Canadian Council for Aboriginal Business (CCAB) Indigenous Business Leadership Award

• Alain Paul – Granules LG Inc., Mashteuiatsh, Quebec

FPAC / Canadian Council of Forest Ministers’ Skills (CCFM) Award for Indigenous Youth

• Autumn Quenville – Thunder Bay, Ontario

• Raven Cardinal – Edmonton, Alberta

• Hunter Corbiere – Waubaushene, Ontario

FPAC Innovation Award

• Bonny Wood, Resolute Forest Products, Thunder Bay, Ontario

FPAC Lifetime Achievement Award

• Margaret Donnelly – Alberta-Pacific Forest Industries Inc., Boyle, Alberta

• Cindy Macdonald – West Fraser, Vancouver, British Columbia

• Mark Feldinger – Canfor, Vancouver, British Columbia

FPAC Women in Forestry Award of Excellence

• Charlene Strelaeff – Mercer Celgar, Castlegar, British Columbia

FPAC Rising Star Award

• Faye Cuadra – Canfor Pulp, Prince George, British Columbia

For further details about FPAC’s Awards of Excellence recipients, including photos and videos, please visit:

FPAC provides a voice for Canada’s wood, pulp, and paper producers nationally and internationally in government, trade, and environmental affairs. The $73.6-billion-a-year forest products industry represents 12 per cent of Canada’s manufacturing GDP and is one of Canada’s largest employers operating in over 600 communities, providing 230,000 direct jobs, and over 600,000 indirect jobs across the country.

For more information contact:

Kerry Patterson-Baker

Vice President, Communications


t 613-563-1441 ext. 314

Follow us on Twitter: @FPAC_APFC

Categorized Under:

Additional Posts

C.D. Howe Report Explores The Future Of Canada’s Forest Products Sector
Read Now
Mining and Forestry Groups Call on Government to Take Action to End Strike at Port of Montreal
Read Now
Researchers from Laval University & UBC Named Canadian Finalists for International Forestry Innovation Award
Read Now